Phoebe Koundouri


Founder and Scientific Chair, AE4RIA; Professor School of Economics and Director of ReSEES Research Laboratory, Athens University of Economics and Business; Professor Department of Technology Management and Economics, Denmark Technical University; Director Sustainable Development Unit, Athena RC; Chair World Council of Environmental and Resource Economists Associations (WCEREA); Chair SDSN Global Climate Hub Co-Chair SDSN Europe; President (past) European Association of Environmental & Resource Economists (EAERE)

Professor Dr. Phoebe Koundouri is a world-renowned pioneer in innovative, human-centric, interdisciplinary systems for the sustainable interaction between nature, society, and the economy, included in the Stanford University list of Top 2% world scientists. She is Professor in Economics, School of Economics and Director of ReSEES Laboratory , Athens University of Economics and Business. She is also Research Professor at the Technology, Management and Economics Department at the Technical University of Denmark. She is Director of the Sustainable Development Unit (SDU) at ATHENA Information Technology Research Center.

She holds a MPhil and a PhD in Economics from the University of Cambridge, held academic positions at University of Cambridge, University College London, University of Reading, London School of Economics.  She has published 15 books, more than 600 scientific papers, including publications in Nature, the Lancet, and top ranked economics, econometric and sustainability science  journals. She co-edited several prestigious academic journals, including Nature: Climate Action and Environmental and Resources Economics. She organized numerous international scientific conferences, supervised more than 30 PhD students, and gave keynote speeches and public lectures across the world.

In 2019, she was elected President of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (EAERE) and she is now chairing the World Council of Environmental and Natural Resource Economists Associations (WCERE). She is the director of the Alliance of Excellence for Research and Innovation on Aeiphoria (AE4RIA), linking the research and innovation work of 5 research centers, 5 innovations accelerators and numerous science-policy networks, with more than 200 researchers and 100 large interdisciplinary competitively funded projects involved (with applications in more than 120 countries). She is chair of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) Global Climate Hub and co-chair of SDSN Europe, with 2000 universities involved. She is member of the European Invest Bank Climate Leaders Network and acts as an advisor the UN, World Bank, European Commission, EIB, EBRD, OECD, NATO and others.

She is commissioner for the Lancet Commission on COVID19 Recovery, member of the Program on Fraternal Economy of Integral and Sustainable Development of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences. In 2022 she received the prestigious European Research Council Synergy Grant, and in 2023, she was awarded the Academy of Athens Excellence in Science Award. She is elected fellow and trustee of the World Academy of Art and Science (WAAS) , Academia EuropaeEuropean Academy of Sciences and ArtsInterAcademy Partnership (IAP) , and member of the Nominating Committee for the Nobel Prize in Economics Sciences.

Scientific Advisory Board

Ian Bateman

Professor, Exeter University, UK

Sir Partha Dasgupta

Professor, University of Cambridge, UK

Yannis Ioannidis

Professor, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Jeffrey Sachs

Professor, Columbia University; President, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network

Christos Zerefos

Emeritus Professor, Academy of Athens, Greece

Affiliated Professors with AE4RIA Institutions

Affiliated Researchers with AE4RIA Institutions

Communications and Research Administration